FR switch EN switch



Community-Nominated Award Finalists

We are delighted to announce the finalists for the Canadian Corporate Counsel Association (CCCA) and Mondaq’s inaugural celebration. We look forward to announcing the winners at the gala evening on October 5 in the magnificent Crystal Ballroom at the Omni King Edward in Toronto, Ontario.

Book your table

Award Finalists

RVA Jones Award

The Robert V.A. Jones Award recognizes an exceptional contribution to the development or the promotion of the in-house counsel bar or community, including significant research or writing on related issues, advocacy efforts, etc. It is awarded to a Canadian In-house counsel whose career exemplifies the highest standards of service, conduct and professionalism for in-house counsel.

sponsored by ...

Bennett Jones


Bindu Cudjoe
Executive Vice-President, Chief Legal Officer, Chief Inclusion and Equity Officer and Corporate Secretary
Laurentian Bank

Stephen Rotstein
Past President
Canadian Bar Association

Christine Silversides
General Counsel
York University

In-House Counsel Up & Comer Award

The Up & Comer Award recognizes excellence among emerging in-house counsels in the private or public sector. Areas of performance might include noteworthy achievements with respect to a significant transaction, management and leadership of a strategic initiative, resolution of material litigation, mentorship other lawyers, demonstration of integrity, pro-bono work, or professional development.

sponsored by ...



Christelle Gedeon
Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary
Canopy Growth Corporation

Jason Gisser
Legal Counsel
University of Manitoba Faculty Association

Husein Panju
In-House Counsel
Travel Industry Council of Ontario

Transition to Business Award

The Transition to Business Award recognizes an in-house counsel who has transitioned out of the traditional legal role into a business / strategic or leadership role within an organization. This person embodies the sentiment of advancing the organizational goals through the lens of a business or organizational partner, not just a legal advisor. Roles within HR, Risk Management, Finance and others are considered.

sponsored by ...

Torkin Manes


Martin Cossette
Vice President, Corporate Strategy (M&A) and Managing Director, Bell Ventures
Bell Canada

Jennifer Cleversey Moffitt
Chief Administrative Officer and General Counsel
Belledune Port Authority

Miranda Lam
Chief Legal Officer and Vice President, Business Development
Acuitas Therapeutics, Inc.

Jeremy Trickett
Former Chief Governance Officer
Great-West Lifeco Inc.

Action in Diversity & Inclusion Award

The Action in Diversity & Inclusion Award honours an in-house counsel or legal department who has shown leadership and commitment towards supporting inclusion and diversity in the legal profession. This award recognizes a law department or individual who has demonstrated a tangible and innovative approach to encourage and promote diverse and inclusive workspaces, either within their organization or more broadly across their industry.

sponsored by ...



Bindu Cudjoe
Executive Vice-President, Chief Legal Officer, Chief Inclusion and Equity Officer and Corporate Secretary
Laurentian Bank

Corrine Kennedy
Associate Vice-President, Legal (Client Solutions – C.A.R.E.)
The Co-operators Group Limited

Angela Yadav
Associate General Counsel
HSBC Bank Canada

Employee Wellness Initiative of the Year Award

The Employee Wellness Initiative of the Year Award recognizes a legal department or in-house counsel who has fostered wellness for the workforce through a specific wellness initiative. The overwhelming trend towards increased workloads, pressure, stress and anxiety within the legal profession has strained departments, workforces and wellness.  This award shines a light on organizational initiatives that are actively addressing these critical issues.

sponsored by ...

Gowling WLG


Kwende Thomas
TD Bank Group

Kevin Wentzel
Senior Corporate Counsel – Management

Legal Team Awards

Innovation Impacting the Profession Award

Innovation in legal department management is not contained to employing technology.  It is understanding the organizational objectives, strategy and change management processes that will make innovation successful. More than using new tools or cost saving measures, the Innovation Impacting the Profession Award recognizes a legal department that has truly moved the needle in a way that sets an example for our profession.

sponsored by ...

Lexis nexis


EY Canada

The Corporation of the City of Vaughan


Legal Team of the Year Award

The Legal Team of the Year Award recognizes a boundary shifting legal team, small or large, that has achieved extraordinary outcomes in our uniquely Canadian In-house community. Beyond large transactions or litigation this award recognizes the unique challenges and successes faced by Canadian departments.

sponsored by ...

Borden Ladner Gervais


Brandt Group of Companies Legal Department

Canopy Growth Corporation Legal Team

Cargojet Legal Team

Legal and Constitutional Law Division – Nunavut Department of Justice


Thank you to our 2023 sponsors for their generous support